Manga Classics: Les Miserables Review

Title: Les Miserables [Manga Classics] by Victor Hugo illustrated by SunNeko Lee

Rating:Related imageRelated image Related imageRelated imageRelated image/5 stars

“He sleeps, Although so much was denied. He lived; and when his dear love left him, died. It happened of itself, in the calm way; that after the night, comes the new day.”

That line! I keep rereading it and I get all teary. Its beautiful. I LOVED this book!

“Les Miserables” by Victor Hugo is a classic novel. It involves historical events during the time of Napoleon, in France. Victor Hugo talks about the dark parts of France. The suffering of people, the way how the law handled things, and how people were taken advantage of. It was so sad and amazing at the same time. This version in manga, In my opinion at least, I thought brought the story to life! The illustrations were beautiful and it matched the story perfectly. The characters brought the right responses. Love, you guys! Love!

I don’t know if you guys like musicals but I had seen Les Miserables Musical w/Anne Hathaway and Hugh Jackman. I loved the musical and it brought me feels. Image result for les miserables

Reading the book brought in manga form brought the same feels. It was just beautiful. If you are intimidated by the book like I was, then I recommend reading this manga version. You won’t regret it trust me!! If I had to sum it all up in one word I’ll say BEAUTIFUL! true art with the story line and illustrations. A must read.

***Reviewed by Angie***

[eArc Given through Netgalley by Publishers Approval]

Leave a Reply

