Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas [Book Review]

Title: “PUNK 57” by Penelope Douglas 

Rating:💜💜💜💜💜/5💜’s

This BOOK you guys!! THIS BOOK!! I want to say it now. I still have the feels even as I write this. This is a NONE SPOILER REVIEW so you don’t have to worry!

SYNOPSIS:

“We were perfect together. Until we met.” – Misha 

I can’t help but smile at the words in her letter. She misses me.
In fifth grade, my teacher set us up with pen pals from a different school. Thinking I was a girl, with a name like Misha, the other teacher paired me up with her student, Ryen. My teacher, believing Ryen was a boy like me, agreed.
It didn’t take long for us to figure out the mistake. And in no time at all, we were arguing about everything. The best take-out pizza. Android vs. iPhone. Whether or not Eminem is the greatest rapper ever…
And that was the start. For the next seven years, it was us.
Her letters are always on black paper with silver writing. Sometimes there’s one a week or three in a day, but I need them. She’s the only one who keeps me on track, talks me down, and accepts everything I am.
We only had three rules. No social media, no phone numbers, no pictures. We had a good thing going. Why ruin it?
Until I run across a photo of a girl online. Name’s Ryen, loves Gallo’s pizza, and worships her iPhone. What are the chances?
F*ck it. I need to meet her.
I just don’t expect to hate what I find.

Ryen

He hasn’t written in three months. Something’s wrong. Did he die? Get arrested? Knowing Misha, neither would be a stretch.
Without him around, I’m going crazy. I need to know someone is listening. It’s my own fault. I should’ve gotten his number or picture or something.
He could be gone forever.
Or right under my nose, and I wouldn’t even know it.

Review:

This baby is a standalone and I LOVED this book! and I mean L-O-V-E!!! I think Penelope Douglas has become my next go to author.  Anything she writes I must have, I must read, I need! Also, look at this book cover. It is STUNNING 💕. The colors are so vibrant, it sucks you in without even knowing what its about.

This is a New Adult book so there are some sexy times in here, so this book is definitely not for young readers but it also deals with self-growth, the fear of acceptance, friendship, loss and bullying.  A book that one can easily relate too the characters. There is High School drama going on and……….not yet. I said no spoilers.The feels guys. I just finished the book and I already want to read it AGAIN!!

The characters were good and even the ones that popped in for like 10 seconds!!! I was like whaattt!?!? Who are these guys and where can I get more. The romance, the plot. It all kept you intoxicated to the story. You would not want to put it down. This book was that good. Oh and she has a playlist of the music that inspired her to write her characters and story and It matches. PERFECTLY.  (I added some of that music to my ipod now ^^)

It is a MUST READ if you have not read. RECOMMEND to the 100th POWER!!!

Also there is something she wrote in her Acknowledgments section. I usually don’t read that section but for some reason I did and I am glad I did. I was touched and got teary. Since her book deals with Bullying, she was voicing out to her readers,to who were ever victims and went through this type (her book scenes) situations [before you read the next line Its not exactly a big spoiler but the lines she says she uses in her book]

To anyone out there who might’ve related to what some of the characters went through, Just remember: it gets better, you are important, and you can’t be replaced. Hang on and you’ll find you tribe.”-Penelope Douglas  

I found that inspirational, Mad respects to Penelope Douglas. Hope you enjoyed this post and comment below if you feel like reading this baby or already have. Until net time. (^^)/

Angie xx

 


 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas [Book Review]

Leave a Reply

