“Bull” by David Elliott [Book Review]

 

Title: “Bull” by David Elliott

Rating: ☆☆☆.7/ 5 ☆’s 

Genre:Teen/YA 

Publishing Date: March 28th 2017 

Synopsis: 

SEE THE STORY OF THESEUS AND THE MINOTAUR

IN A WHOLE NEW LIGHT

Minos thought he could

Pull a fast one

On me,

Poseidon!

God of the Sea!

But I’m the last one

On whom you

Should try such a thing.

The nerve of that guy.

The balls. The audacity.

I AM THE OCEAN!

I got capacity!

Depths! Darkness! Delphic power!

So his sweet little plan

Went big-time sour

And his wife had a son

Born with horns and a muzzle

Who ended up

In an underground puzzle.

What is it with you mortals?

You just can’t seem to learn:

If you play with fire, babies,

You’re gonna get burned.

My Thoughts & Review:

~ Something that not many know about me is that I am a mythology junkie. ESPECIALLY Greek Myth. When I heard there was a retelling of the Minotaur and Theseus I had to read it! In the end it was not a retelling its more of a modernize version of the story in a poetic way. I actually enjoyed this read! It helped me fight off my reading slump (^^).

The story is told in poetry, but it is not boring. The language and tone used is more of our time, you know 21st century and If I’m being honest at time it did get annoying. Well mostly when a particular character talked. You’ll know who if you keep reading. I won’t spoil so no worries.

In this story we see more of the life of the Minotaur. In the original story we basically don’t have much background from him. I liked seeing this created story from the author. Asterion, which is the Minotaur became my favorite character and I felt for him. I knew what the outcome would be but it still did not help with my feels. I enjoyed all the characters even Poseidon which was the god involved.

Poseidon (God of the Sea) at the beginning ANNOYED ME!!! He was the reason I kept thinking “should I even bother continuing….”(It was that bad). The tone and language used for him was just too much for me and it annoyed THE HECK OUT OF ME. but I was glad I continued. Meeting the other characters and seeing things happening through their eyes was interesting. Watching everything unravel and my Minotaur and her sister. It was good! Definitely enjoyed the read. I do recommend for Mythology Junkies like me or Poetry lovers (Just get through the beginning it gets better) or even people who want to start Greek myths or want to read something light. This is the book for you. Great story, great background on Asterion, My Minotaur, I loved it!

Will be out March 28th so get your copy cause it is worth the read.

                           **  [eARC given through Netgalley for an Honest Review] **

Until Next time (^^)/

Angie XX

Leave a Reply

